Posted on

After our little block of research the other day in the library when I was going to check out my books on William Blake Mrs. Johnston mentioned a song she had heard that had a poem by William Blake read in the background. I was intrigued and then thoroughly excited when she sent me the link to the video. It was called “Lullaby” and it was by a woman named Loreena McKennitt. I listened to it and was entranced by her voice and impressed by the dramatic reading Douglas Campbell (a Scottish stage and film actor) supplied over the ending third of the song. After I finished listening to it I wanted to hear more of this wonderful woman and stumbled upon a song titled “The Lady of Shallot” and I thought well this can’t be anything but the poem. I clicked on the video and was enthralled once again.
When I had read “The Lady of Shallot” I was struck by its heartbreaking narration and gorgeous diction. Ms. McKennitt takes this beautiful poem and turns it into an even more beautiful song infusing it with her Celtic style and soaring over the words with a seemingly endless vocal range. I am always amazed by the ways artists take forgotten works and revive them by adding new depth and this is exactly what Ms. McKennitt has done.

Leave a comment